#reverb10 – 11 Things

December 11 – 11 Things What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

I’m totally just going to copy Elizabeth Ditty on this one, and pick eleven things I need to add to my life. In 2010, my life got pared down to the absolute minimum as it was. Any less, and I’m just a skeleton tap-dancing on bare floorboards.

1 – More happiness. Or, some. Any would be more, frankly. I do not know how this would be achieved, though. This is a horribly emo comment that I already regret typing in a public place, but I can’t think of a time when I’ve ever been remotely happy, and for sure the last decade was pretty much pickpocketed from me, and nothing short of a genuine misery. Yeah, yeah, “you make your own happiness,” but come on, to some of us, that shit’s like alchemy.

2 – More MMA writing. I was such a baby when I was writing for Total MMA. I knew nothing, but got by on chutzpah and “I’m just a confused noob!” humour. That stuff was a lot of fun, and these days I can also bring the knowledge.

3 – More getting my work out there, more exposure. I’ve got no problem with knuckling down and churning out all manner of stuff, but once it comes to getting that out to third parties, such as publishers or established websites, not so much. It’s not even a fear of being rejected, just a general disdain for dealing with people. Maybe it’s that stubborn idea that I have to do everything myself and on my own terms, which, let’s be honest, has not worked. If it had, a million people would be reading this, and I’d be sitting on a throne. And my #1 on this list would probably be a moot requirement.

4 – More film and pop-culture writing. Sort of ties in with #3, but I need to be doing a lot more.

5 – More eggs in more baskets. Right now I’ve kinda got my entire life hinging on one thing coming off, which is very, very stupid.

6 – More travel. Through circumstance, I literally wasn’t able to go anywhere for almost a decade, and then last year, the door finally creaked open. But after ten years of solitude, the world outside was confusing and strange, and somewhat annoying, and if I’m honest, I kinda said “Eh, fuck that,” and locked myself away to write another book. I should probably not do that again next year. (I must point out, I wasn’t actually in jail, just a metaphorical one, so don’t assume I’m on some kind of register.)

7 – More money. Not so much in a shallow, materialistic way, but honestly, the carefree “Hey man, I’m just like Bodhi from Point Break, just let me soar free like the artistic bird I am…” attitude doesn’t always fly.

8 – More expanding into areas of art I might not have ordinarily wandered. This means more watching of movies I wouldn’t normally have watched, and more reading of books I similarly might have avoided. I’ve got some pretty shameful gaps in my knowledge that I should get around to filling, so I’ll probably be bothering recommendations out of anyone I deem to have good taste.

9 – More actual watching of the stuff piling up on my desk. I acquire a lot of movies, TV shows and whatnot, but only get around to actually watching a fraction of them. The best way to learn and be inspired is by catching other people’s work, good or bad, so I will get right on that. (Essentially what I’m saying is: 2011 – procrastinate with a purpose)

10 – More…yeah, I’m really struggling now. I almost put “more people,” but I just couldn’t bear to. Still not sold on that being social thing.

11 – More hugs! Nah, just kidding. What’s a hug? I think I saw one in a movie once. More pugs. That’ll do. I like their snuffly little faces.

This really turned out horribly emo and whiny, didn’t it? The worst part about Reverb10 is that it forces this kind of introspection, and if you’re just not a happy person, potential insight will always give way to the kind of embarrassing toot you wrote on LiveJournal a decade ago, or puerile nonsense. I don’t think I’m cut out for this meme.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

~ by Stuart on December 13, 2010.

2 Responses to “#reverb10 – 11 Things”

  1. Hey, hugs and pugs are both great! You can even combine them! I don’t get very many hugs, to be honest, and whenever I do, I’m like, “Yeah, hugs!” So that’s why they made my list. And I don’t have pugs, but I do have long-haired chihuahuas, so at least I’ve got that going for me.

    But anyway, introspection can be awkward and uncomfortable, but it generally yields information that we can use to change what we don’t like. So even though you hated doing this post, now you know how you want your life to change and improve next year, and you even have a basic plan to make that happen. So, all’s well that ends well. For now anyway. 🙂 See, unbearably earnest!

    • So I totally just wasted 10 minutes trying to work in a viable (Unbearably) Earnest Saves Christmas pun.I failed.

      Anyway, you’re right, of course.I know what I have to do, even if that’s going to be incredibly testing, and maybe we’ll look back at this posting during #reverb11 and laugh at how things have changed.

      And I would gladly send over an e-hug, but I’m kind of awkward, so please accept this fist-bump instead.

      *fist-bump*

Leave a Reply

 
